Roseville City School District

Warren T. Eich Middle School » History Department

History Department

 
INDIVIDUALS AND SOCIETIES
Some websites have changed as of mid year.  Please contact your teacher via email if the website is non active.
 
       
TEACHER CLASS TAUGHT EMAIL WEBSITE
Mrs. Brear Ancient Civilizations HBrear@rcsdk8.org Brear's website
Mr. Gregory US History JGregory@rcsdk8.org Gregory's website
Mrs. Hastie Ancient Civilizations NHastie@rcsdk8.org  Hastie's website
Mrs. Kerns Medieval Civilizations MKerns@rcsdk8.org Kerns website
Mr. Klingensmith Ancient Civilizations MKlingensmith@rcsdk8.org  Klingensmith's webpage
Mr. Padilla Ancient Civilizations APadilla@rcsdk8.org Padilla's webpage 
Mr. Tagert
Medieval Civilizations
US History w/ 2 GATE*
CTagert@rcsdk8.org Tagert's website
Mrs. Stark Ancient Civilizations CStark@rcsdk8.org Stark's website 
Mrs. Vallerga Ancient Civilizations PVallerga@rcsdk8.org  Vallerga's webpage
Mrs. Wright Medieval Civilizations w/ 2 GATE* DWright@rcsdk8.org Wright's website
 
*GATE testing held once a year - see administration for details on the testing process
 
This is a generic website for the district.  Most teachers have their own website and you should contact them for that information.
 
I did include a snip it about the grade levels below.... only a snip it though.  If you want more information, please feel free to contact your teacher and if they don't get back to you in 24 hours, contact me.... I'm the Department Chair for Social studies and will contact them for you if any hiccups.  My email is CTagert@rcsdk8.org.
 
IB - We are known in the IB world as Individuals and Societies.  We incorporate IB Philosophy into our classes several different ways.  IB Characteristics are incorporated daily, comparing and contrasting historical figures with individuals from today.  We also bring in current countries and their background where appropriate with our topics that we are discussing. Each grade level has their own speciality when it comes to design.
 
A little about 6th grade Social Studies
Study of early human man and the beginnings of our society as we know ... Ancient Mesopotamia. Goes into the Hebrews and Egypt as well as India and China.  Should wrap up with Greece and Rome where 7th grade takes over.  Each ancient civilization we focus on geography, religion/beliefs, Social Systems and Achievements.

A little about 7th grade Social Studies:
We use the acronym "GRAPES" - (Geography, Religion, Achievements, Politics, Economics and Social levels) when learning about societies in medieval times. We take over at Rome and start to discuss the Fall of Rome...The other societies to be discussed are Middle East, Africa, Asia, Europe and the Americas.  
 
8th grade US History begins with Colonization in 1607 with Jamestown and review of the Revolution Fervor.  The first trimester ends with the Constitution which is followed by the Constitution Test - a Graduation requirement.  We offer a field trip to the State Capital (October) in order to compare State and Federal Governments.  
 
The second trimester begins with the Early American Presidents and their policies,  Washington to Jackson.  We wrap up with Manifest Destiny, spreading the American culture from ocean to ocean.
 
Third and final trimester is the Civil War to America at the turn of the Century.  
 
 
Please feel free to contact us at anytime.  We are a dynamic team who are here to give the best education possible for your child.. as well as you!  Get involved!  We would love to have you sit in!